Fast Facts & History
About Corner Brook
The City of Corner Brook is the largest community in Western Newfoundland, and is the main service centre for the coastline. The largest employers in the community are Western Memorial Regional Health Care Authority, followed by Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Limited. The city is home to three post-secondary education campuses. There is a wide range of businesses from the industrial suppliers such as the paper mill to professional and personal services. The provincial and federal governments have a variety of departments in the city; natural resources departments and agencies are a focus with a concentration of forestry, fishery, and agriculture industries on the west coast.
Summers in Corner Brook are comfortably warm. Fall brings cooler temperatures and vibrant autumn colours, which are normally in their prime around mid-October. Winter months tend to be mild and snowy.
IN CASE OF EMERGENCY
Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Public Internet Access
Located at City Hall, 5 Park Street. Newly constructed building is attached to the newly constructed City Hall, you can use West Street entrance
Humber Community YMCA
For thousands of years, people have lived and worked along the shores of the Bay of Islands and in the Humber River Valley, taking advantage of the abundant resources and access to water for transportation. The Maritime Archaic first inhabitated the area followed by the Beothuck, who were thought to number between one to two thousand people at the time of European contact. As a result of a complex mix of factors, the Beothuk became extinct in 1829.
James Cook, the famous British cartographer and explorer, was the first to survey and record the geography of the Bay of Islands. Throughout the summer of 1767 he surveyed most of the west coast of Newfoundland, including both sides of the Bay of Islands, the Humber Arm, the present location of the City of Corner Brook, and along the Humber River as far as Deer Lake.
By the middle of the 19th century the population of Corner Brook was less than 100. With each winter, this number increased as many east coast fishermen fished the Strait of Belle Isle in summer and spent the winters working in Corner Brook’s lumber woods. As the population of the area grew, the economic base began to diversify. The Newfoundland Railway was the major transportation link across the island, and carried passengers and freight between Port aux Basques and St. John’s with frequent stops in Corner Brook. It was the construction of the pulp and paper mill between 1923 and 1925 that triggered the transformation of Corner Brook from a small but bustling sawmill centre into the largest industrial city in western Newfoundland.
Prior to amalgamation in 1956 the Corner Brook area was comprised of four distinct communities along the shores of the Bay of Islands each with unique commercial activities. These included Curling with its fishery; Corner Brook West (also known as Humber West or Westside) with its retail businesses; Corner Brook East (also known as Humbermouth and the Humber Heights) with its railway operations; and Townsite (known as Corner Brook), home to the employees of the pulp and paper mill. Today, these four communities form the City of Corner Brook.